Queen Elizabeth II presents England's World-Cup winning captain, Bobby Moore, with the Jules Rimet trophy


Since 1877


The Shropshire Football Association came into formal existence on October 8th 1877 following an inaugural meeting at The Lion Hotel in Shrewsbury.

Twelve affiliated clubs took part in the first competition run by the fledgling Association, with Shrewsbury defeating Wellington 1-0 in the final in April 1878, thus initiating the oldest foot-balling rivalry in the county, with that competition developing into the Shropshire Senior Cup. The original trophy is still competed for by the County’s senior clubs, making it the oldest piece of football silverware in the world.

By the turn of the century membership of the Shropshire FA had swelled to 66 clubs and by the outbreak of World War One that figure had risen to 116 clubs, 41 leagues and various competitions and 90 registered referees.

Now over one hundred years later the Association can still boast Three open-age adult leagues and five junior leagues, comprising of over 200 affiliated clubs, 330 registered referees and a total participation on an average weekend of over 10,000 people. Aside from the Senior Cup, the Shropshire FA also run six other county cup competitions, two Saturday, two Sunday, the Women’s Cup and Youth Cup which bring each season to an exciting climax.

The burgeoning world of football development has brought enormous participation in coaching, welfare and treatment of injury courses to ensure the long-term evolution of football in the county as the Shropshire FA moves forward in the 21st century.

From their origins at The Lion Hotel, the Association eventually moved its headquarters to the Albert Hotel in Shrewsbury, before taking residence in an office in Shrewsbury High Street. They remained there until 1997 when a new home was found in purpose-built offices at Gay Meadow, the former home of Shrewsbury Town FC, a year which also saw David Rowe become the first full-time administrator of the Shropshire FA, when he succeeded Alan Brett as County Secretary, a post Alan had held since 1977.

Ten years later in 2007 the Association were on the move once more, following Shrewsbury Town FC to their brand new stadium at Oteley Road and into a spacious office and administration centre that of January 2012 began housing the combined forces of both the Governance and Football Development staff – unifying the duties and intentions of the Shropshire FA as they embrace the challenges of the present with ambitions for the future.

When David Rowe retired in November 2010 the position of County Secretary had evolved and the county appointed a CEO, a role that continued for the next ten years. With the ever changing landscape there was a need to adapt to a new perspective which meets the FA’s vision for the future. With this in mind and the impact of Covid-19’s had on the FA’s investment plans the County FA sought a new direction in employing a Business Manager to drive a more commercially oriented business.

From September 2020 and with over 20 years service to the Association Mick Murphy was appointed its first Business Manager.

2020-21 will see the adoption of a new Football Governance Code to modernise County Association’s internal structures, it’s Governance and Board of Directors. Telford & Wrekin will have its own dedicated Participation Officer based at AFC Telford Utd servicing the needs of football in that area.

Related Articles

View All